Ok I just finished the book I've been ploughing through for ages
It's amazing I must say. Rather incomprehensible at times but I guess it's like....perhaps the author didn't tie up all the loose ends so that it's up to the readers' imaginations. Can't really express it in words, but I think it's by far the best book that I've read by Murakami (considering that I've only read Kafka and Norwegian Wood) haha.
I think I should read Norwegian Wood again. Hated it, didn't understand anything at all......how is it 'beautiful'??? But sighz I have no idea where my copy of the book is :-(
Tuesday, October 30, 2012
Sunday, October 28, 2012
Malaysia
Things I need to talk about:
-YEP: Dunmania
-Bus hopping arnd Changi w Weiqi
-Tamp > Katong i12 > Vivo w Jieying
-PEAs: Go!SH, bowling, hcl lessons
-4K dinner & Shermaine's house
Ok that's not a lot.............right
Started learning French awhile ago aft eoys and my progress has been zero since then.
I can say this though: Je mange une pomme. (I eat an apple.)
That's about all that I know LOL
(If you interested I use http://duolingo.com - there's French, German and Spanish)
Went to visit my grandparents' house in Malaysia today, and only then did I realize how much I miss that place!!! Haven't been there for more than 1 year and the sense of familiarity is overwhelming. So many things have changed - new buildings etc, even the old shophouses are painted a shade of blue now. I also have a new baby cousin and my grandparents' house has wifi too. In fact, I feel like I'm looking at the same place with a different set of eyes, kinda like how people discover new things when they read a book the second time (I rarely do actually)?? Or it could just be absence that's making the heart grow fonder.
Life is much more laid-back and relaxed there (I'm talking about Tangkak btw not like KL or sth) and I kinda envy their lifestyle. It's also surprising how they have embraced technology much more than my parents did, like for instance the use of smartphones and touch screen tablets. Technology is really amazing isn't it. It's like watching the content we study in LA (sci & tech) come to life and truly improving lives, facilitating communication etc.
Siannn I originally had a lot to say but after that long car ride with that not-quite-awful traffic jam on the way home all my thoughts evaporated into nothing hahaha
I'm currently reading The Wind-up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami....
Lol ok I just went to google him coz I thought his name sounded too nice to be real but turns out it is and I also found out how his signature looks like:
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/0/00/Haruki_Murakami_signture.svg
I guess it takes such a strange individual to come up with such bizarre ideas like in his books haha
Just read a lot of reviews and I'm motivated to continue reading ahhhhh :>>>>>>
-YEP: Dunmania
-Bus hopping arnd Changi w Weiqi
-Tamp > Katong i12 > Vivo w Jieying
-PEAs: Go!SH, bowling, hcl lessons
-4K dinner & Shermaine's house
Ok that's not a lot.............right
Started learning French awhile ago aft eoys and my progress has been zero since then.
I can say this though: Je mange une pomme. (I eat an apple.)
That's about all that I know LOL
(If you interested I use http://duolingo.com - there's French, German and Spanish)
Went to visit my grandparents' house in Malaysia today, and only then did I realize how much I miss that place!!! Haven't been there for more than 1 year and the sense of familiarity is overwhelming. So many things have changed - new buildings etc, even the old shophouses are painted a shade of blue now. I also have a new baby cousin and my grandparents' house has wifi too. In fact, I feel like I'm looking at the same place with a different set of eyes, kinda like how people discover new things when they read a book the second time (I rarely do actually)?? Or it could just be absence that's making the heart grow fonder.
Life is much more laid-back and relaxed there (I'm talking about Tangkak btw not like KL or sth) and I kinda envy their lifestyle. It's also surprising how they have embraced technology much more than my parents did, like for instance the use of smartphones and touch screen tablets. Technology is really amazing isn't it. It's like watching the content we study in LA (sci & tech) come to life and truly improving lives, facilitating communication etc.
Siannn I originally had a lot to say but after that long car ride with that not-quite-awful traffic jam on the way home all my thoughts evaporated into nothing hahaha
I'm currently reading The Wind-up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami....
Lol ok I just went to google him coz I thought his name sounded too nice to be real but turns out it is and I also found out how his signature looks like:
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/0/00/Haruki_Murakami_signture.svg
I guess it takes such a strange individual to come up with such bizarre ideas like in his books haha
Just read a lot of reviews and I'm motivated to continue reading ahhhhh :>>>>>>
Friday, October 26, 2012
4K
I was on the way home from Aik's house, sitting at the top deck, front row of bus 89 and looking out at the highway at night - the perfect setting for deep thoughts - when it hit me. The realization that I'm gonna miss 4K really badly after we leave JH. My god time really flies. And so much for me saying that it's only gonna sink in 2 weeks after the end of school. Nope, it's only been 1 day haha. So weak.
In a way I felt that 4K was special. Like you can have many triple science classes, but there is after all, only one double humanities class (at least in DHS) and that makes us really cool haha. We're all such unique and different individuals and I love all these quirks of 4K. I believe I don't have much regrets the past 2 years, Y3/Y4 life had been rather eventful (understatement) and I'm really glad I spent it with 4K. On the other hand I do hear my classmates saying that they should have spent more time with the class, it's a pity how we only got closer to one another in Y4. I've got to admit that 4K isn't a very bonded class but I do really cherish the friendships we forged throughout the 2 years.
One thing that saddens me is that this, or rather now, is probably the peak of our friendship. It's easy to say that we would still be going through SH together but the truth is that by then it wouldn't be the same anymore. It's not like we can go out and have class lunches or dinners or watch movies or hobo or talk or play cards after a day of school. And people do drift apart too. What I'm saying is that we should really just live in the moment and enjoy ourselves and one day, look back on these events that will become mere memories.
To quote Charlie from Perks of being a Wallflower:
Ok I sidetracked. My friend once asked me if I would feel bored being in the same school with the same people for 6 years and if I were to answer that now, it's a no. In fact I feel like it's a blessing that we get to overcome the A levels together I really can't imagine myself doing that elsewhere in another school with a cohort that I'm not familiar with. So yes, I shall aim to slowly blog about all the class events we've had this year (especially after eoys) as a form of remembrance.
Abrupt end because I'm hungry and I wanna eat my dinner.
In a way I felt that 4K was special. Like you can have many triple science classes, but there is after all, only one double humanities class (at least in DHS) and that makes us really cool haha. We're all such unique and different individuals and I love all these quirks of 4K. I believe I don't have much regrets the past 2 years, Y3/Y4 life had been rather eventful (understatement) and I'm really glad I spent it with 4K. On the other hand I do hear my classmates saying that they should have spent more time with the class, it's a pity how we only got closer to one another in Y4. I've got to admit that 4K isn't a very bonded class but I do really cherish the friendships we forged throughout the 2 years.
One thing that saddens me is that this, or rather now, is probably the peak of our friendship. It's easy to say that we would still be going through SH together but the truth is that by then it wouldn't be the same anymore. It's not like we can go out and have class lunches or dinners or watch movies or hobo or talk or play cards after a day of school. And people do drift apart too. What I'm saying is that we should really just live in the moment and enjoy ourselves and one day, look back on these events that will become mere memories.
To quote Charlie from Perks of being a Wallflower:
"When I was walking up the stairs to my dad’s old room, and I was looking at the old photographs, I started thinking that there was a time when these weren’t memories. That someone actually took that photograph, and the people in the photograph has just eaten lunch or something."That's quite a nice book by the way. Movie didn't really do it much justice, I didn't like Emma Watson's role (she doesn't fit Samantha!!!) but Logan Lerman was convincing as Charlie and Patrick guy was not bad too.
Ok I sidetracked. My friend once asked me if I would feel bored being in the same school with the same people for 6 years and if I were to answer that now, it's a no. In fact I feel like it's a blessing that we get to overcome the A levels together I really can't imagine myself doing that elsewhere in another school with a cohort that I'm not familiar with. So yes, I shall aim to slowly blog about all the class events we've had this year (especially after eoys) as a form of remembrance.
Abrupt end because I'm hungry and I wanna eat my dinner.
Saturday, October 13, 2012
Running
On a roll today hahaha.
I believed I stepped on a snail just now on the way home.......I didn't mean to ahhhh but it was so dark I couldn't see the ground clearly anyway and it felt really crunchy (LOL) and soft in a way, like it can be easily crushed.
I'm curious. Can snails still survive if their shell is cracked?? Ok in this case broken into pieces.
And aren't humans just like snails, we might inevitably get stepped on (perhaps a couple more times) while travelling to our respective destinations, the only difference is that for snails its one hit KO whereas for humans we at least, might get the chance to climb back up. That is, if we are not injured beyond repair.
Talking to my Thai buddy Van now haha it's been so long!!! ^-^
Whoa whoa ok she's learning German and she's going Switzerland for a whole year next year!!! For an exchange program. So exciting haha why does my life pale so much in comparison
Ok back to the snails story haha. I was thinking, did urbanization, or rather the modernization of landscapes chase off all the large predators to jungles elsewhere (I'm thinking tigers, lions, bears etc) and in turn allow those little insects and maybe even cats, dogs etc to survive better and perhaps proliferate?? But then again it also introduced humans as a new form of predators right. Accidental maybe, like me stepping on that poor snail. Or through human activity like all those pollution from cars and factories and all. This is turning out to be very geog haha. And then those large predators will also be kinda congregated in a place won't they, assuming that they survive the threat of humans. So they'll go after each other??? Hahahahaha I have no idea where this is leading. Ok the extinction of animals. The end.
PS: Do cats eat snails?? Meow meow meow
Ok before I forget. My horoscope today has been quite very interesting:
Love and romance are in store for you now, so make sure you're ready for anything -- or anyone, if you're single! Your great energy makes you even more attractive than usual, so things should go your way.
Ahahaha ok more than half the day's has gone by and nothing like this has happened.
What a load of bullshit hahaha
Ok before I forget. My horoscope today has been quite very interesting:
Love and romance are in store for you now, so make sure you're ready for anything -- or anyone, if you're single! Your great energy makes you even more attractive than usual, so things should go your way.
Ahahaha ok more than half the day's has gone by and nothing like this has happened.
What a load of bullshit hahaha
Wallflower
Ok I just published a couple of blogposts that I written few days ago
Hopefully they're sufficiently entertaining hahaha
Disclaimer though, there are some things I wrote in a fit of anger and I might not think the same way now. It's just a phase I guess, and everything's okay already.
Past 2 days have been great, took a couple of random bus rides and I love the places they brought me to. I didn't do it alone by the way haha. Will blog about this later on.
Just wanted to say that I've started reading Eliss's copy of The perks of being a wallflower and I'm liking it so far (38 pgs into the book). You know you're enjoying a book if it makes you smile. And the main character, Charlie, is rather odd yet interesting as well because his thoughts seem so simple minded and perhaps, shallow but also deep at times. Not sure if this on purpose, it's like his innocence is sarcastic without meaning to be. Quite intriguing.
There's this quote stuck in my head that may be from the book or may not, but it goes something like it's such a sad thing that most people rather write poetry than read them?? I can't remember. Shall google it later, I shall now go runnnnnnn :>
Eoeoys
Listening to:
When we first met
by hellogoodbye
Happy music for a
depressed soul.
I'm not actually
depressed actually. Just sad, I guess. That the same shit happens each night,
and I'm not allowed to do what I want. It's really lame. But after all I have
no school. And I would really love to have control of my life. Ok this probably
makes no sense to you.
Stop talking.
Earphones in, no one's listening.
Oh god that's a
really bad beginning.
Long post ahead. I
think.
On a side note. I
really felt like jogging around the neighbourhood just now.......sounds totally
normal, I know, except that it was 3am. Does anyone do that?? Is it even safe??
I was so tempted, it'll be damn cool. But after a refreshing
shower........nevermind haha
I am so annoyed
right now. Gonna sound schizophrenic but my Dad’s screaming at me through a
door to go and sleep. And because I refuse to, he shut off the Internet. How
scheming. But no that won’t stop me, there’s Microsoft word haha. Hopefully
this explains the above part. And I have no way of explaining this without
sounding like I’m an absolutely defiant and bad daughter. But it’s complicated.
So yes. Happier things. Let’s talk about my day.
Today was Xinyi’s birthday surprise. Basically HX’s mum’s friend
has very kindly lent us her Marina Bay Sands hotel room for the afternoon and
yupz. MBS is really stunning though, first time I walked through the lane of
shops, coming from the MRT and it’s like, whoa. The air there is certainly
different. One day I shall sit that river/canal/gondola ride haha. Looks really
fun.
Met at Nex beforehand to buy/decorate the cake and for Mich and I,
run around the mall getting party decorations………while finding the lowest priced
items. Unleashing our inner aunties aha. But yep it was a lotta fun!!! Saw a
lot of Dunmanians at Nex though, it’s as though the only places we go are like
Tampines or Nex. Or KLP lol.
Mmmm and then we kinda spent the afternoon in the hotel room
making Xinyi’s “musical card” (when opened, we sing the happy bday song – how lame
hahaha), blowing up balloons, watching TV and actually just slacking around. Played a round
of Taiti too. It wasn’t satisfying L The view from the hotel room is really
good too!!!
Ok my Internet’s back so here you go:
It's so obviously (poorly) digitally combined haha (photos from Kaijing)
Oh yep and then HX was supposed to lead Xinyi to MBS. Haha and Xinyi totally knew we were planning sth (partly my fault ahhhhh). So we were ready, cake, party poppers, party hats and all. Now here's the funniest part. Siyun and I decided to hide behind the curtains and surprise/scare them when they approach the cake. But the lights were switched off, so HX, who was oblivious, decided to draw open the curtains.......and I thought that was our cue so yes hahahahaa what a pleasant surprise it must have been.
Took many many many pictures. Including a really creepy polaroid which turned out to be pitch black (except a flash) because we wanted to take our mirror reflection........and all the horror stories that ensued. Oh yes we wanted to go to the skypark too, but somehow the rules now states that you have to be registered under the guest list (we weren't) to enter it so no infinity pool for us :-((((( It's okay tho more opportunities next time!!
Astons at Suntec City for dinner. Tried the Hickory BBQ chicken, I actually liked it!! We called for 9 glasses of water and they took really long, then Mich told me that they probably delayed it so that we'll become thirsty and order other drinks (which they were serving). Not exactly a good restaurant policy - their water costs 30c leh -_- But the staff were really friendly and all. Great atmosphere :-)
Was in charge of splitting the bill and it turned out to be short of 10c. I'm sure Mrs Kong will be really proud of me.
Overall a really enjoyable day out w the 2A peepz.
My favourite picture:
Oh so cool man my Internet just got switched off again. What a brilliant tactic, it's not working though!!!
Okay now let's talk about Taken 2 w 4K after eoys!!! Hehe
Wait actually in fact there's nothing much to say. Went to Cathay to catch the movie, ate lunch at the fountain, talked, gossiped, usual stuffz :-) Movie was quite good!! Thought all that drawing circles/counting seconds thing was really cool, but then again I haven't watched Taken 1. Movies aren't my priority, judge me all you want but I haven't watched Inception/Avengers/Avatar etc either hahaha damn suaku.
It's now 4am. I should be sleeping, gonna have an "impromptu" date with Weiqi tmr!!! Hopefully I manage to wake up before 1pm. Had a 2h long phone chat with her just now, feels really good to talk to her. To quote her, "there's no need to maintain any appearances as we've known each other for so long", since kindergarten actually haha. But we weren't exactly the best of friends, been quite close all along but not like now.
One interesting thing is, we've grown up in almost similar environments - same kindergarten, primary school, tuition, same town etc and our personalities (according to MBTI) is quite similar too. This kinda supports the nature vs nurture argument doesn't it, where your environment shapes your personality. I kinda love Pasir Ris eh I won't wanna leave this place :-( All my childhood memories haha
This is now almost a thousand words ahhhh
I've been hopping from one topic to another and now. I always get this feeling of emptiness the day of eoeoys, it's like I've lost my purpose in life. What a loser right, Weiqi was saying that eoeoys represent the finding of one's purpose in life and not the loss of it.......but it's really not a nice feeling it's like internal boredom and it just consumes you from inside :-((( Don't know why this happens either I really don't get along quite well with examinations do I. The only good thing that came out from eoys was that it downsized my diet haha but I'm slowly gaining it back too.
I'm so bored what should I do now, Internet's still down, not sure whether le father is still trying to force a quick surrender out of me, the switching off of my Internet is comparable to the US oil embargo in response to my agitation in "Manchuria", I might have to attack SEA but well we all know how that struggle ended. If I were Japan my mum would have been Germany. Or Italy, since they switched sides in WW1. Ahhh history. Love to learn it, read it, but the sbcs and essays are honestly quite a pain in the ass.
Just repeated the song mentioned at the start 24 times.
Weariness is settling into me I should head to bed.......bye world.
I'm sure tomorrow will be a better day :-)
Nightmare
Had a really morbid dream.
I'm still trying to make sense of it
But no, I don't understand
Scene 1
Yunyi Siyun and I were waiting for our math consultation
Wasn't supposed to be us but the other grp couldn't make it
So we agreed. And we were discussing math qns.
I couldn't find what I was trying to find for the rest,
a list of formulas for the areas of different shapes/polygons.
Then I realized my book was outdated. It was from 2004.
Then we waited and waited and Mrs Kong wasn't coming......
So strangely, I looked down the window
And somehow it was the big trees at my house
Scene 2
Another day, another time.
I was eating a cup of jelly. Near me was J's boyfriend, now ex I think.
Sitting at the void deck. Also eating jelly. In fact a tub of jelly.
He looked very sad. (I think jelly = jealousy.)
Because J and her new boyfriend was nearby. We could see them playing.
Each from our own location. J's ex not aware I was there.
I went into the house. My younger cousin was there. Really annoying.
Adults were busy dressing up I think. For what, I have no clue.
Younger cousin and I. We disagreed and argued over some issue.
And then he destroyed my black hairband. I was really pissed.
I started taunting him I think. Challenged me to a duel.
Obviously I won. But he was not bad either. Quite powerful.
I feel like I injured him quite badly. Because he lied unconscious on the ground.
Or maybe I killed him. Things I'll never know.
There wasn't a lot of blood though.
Scene 3
My house again, the big trees.
A funeral. A family sitting near the big trees (not sure if I'm related)
Money (or sth equally valuable) was lost. One of the Aunts was accused of stealing it.
She was suspected of doing so the previous time. It ruined her good reputation.
Family quarrel. Aunt defended herself. Everyone took sides.
Somehow it turned really bad and everyone was screaming at each other.
Many family secrets revealed. Can't remember much.
People were angry, shocked, betrayed. A lot of drama.
Someone took out a handwritten letter (on dhs foolscap -_-)
Found her guilty of the previous crime. Sth to do with inheritance.
Aunt once again blamed for the loss. More people convinced.
Some turned against her. But she was innocent - I suppose, or believed.
Frustrated, and at her wits' end, she threatened to end her life.
She climbed up the big trees. Somehow, filming herself with a video camera.
Committed suicide with a rope. I rmb her saying, "One last swing"
Police sirens. And the video was uploaded on Youtube. The end.
Was jolted awake by a phone call. Am really glad.
Reality seemed so much better. I have no idea what this means though.
This makes me think if I actually was at the scene
Or did I just watch the whole thing off Youtube. I think I knew that Aunt though.
That's why I was very shocked. Was that my family? I don't know.
It had a very TKAM feel to it too. Maybe coz it paralleled the story.
Or that could just mean that it happened in the past. I don't know either.
Confused. And now, afraid to fall asleep.
Update.
I'm still trying to make sense of it
But no, I don't understand
Scene 1
Yunyi Siyun and I were waiting for our math consultation
Wasn't supposed to be us but the other grp couldn't make it
So we agreed. And we were discussing math qns.
I couldn't find what I was trying to find for the rest,
a list of formulas for the areas of different shapes/polygons.
Then I realized my book was outdated. It was from 2004.
Then we waited and waited and Mrs Kong wasn't coming......
So strangely, I looked down the window
And somehow it was the big trees at my house
Scene 2
Another day, another time.
I was eating a cup of jelly. Near me was J's boyfriend, now ex I think.
Sitting at the void deck. Also eating jelly. In fact a tub of jelly.
He looked very sad. (I think jelly = jealousy.)
Because J and her new boyfriend was nearby. We could see them playing.
Each from our own location. J's ex not aware I was there.
I went into the house. My younger cousin was there. Really annoying.
Adults were busy dressing up I think. For what, I have no clue.
Younger cousin and I. We disagreed and argued over some issue.
And then he destroyed my black hairband. I was really pissed.
I started taunting him I think. Challenged me to a duel.
Obviously I won. But he was not bad either. Quite powerful.
I feel like I injured him quite badly. Because he lied unconscious on the ground.
Or maybe I killed him. Things I'll never know.
There wasn't a lot of blood though.
Scene 3
My house again, the big trees.
A funeral. A family sitting near the big trees (not sure if I'm related)
Money (or sth equally valuable) was lost. One of the Aunts was accused of stealing it.
She was suspected of doing so the previous time. It ruined her good reputation.
Family quarrel. Aunt defended herself. Everyone took sides.
Somehow it turned really bad and everyone was screaming at each other.
Many family secrets revealed. Can't remember much.
People were angry, shocked, betrayed. A lot of drama.
Someone took out a handwritten letter (on dhs foolscap -_-)
Found her guilty of the previous crime. Sth to do with inheritance.
Aunt once again blamed for the loss. More people convinced.
Some turned against her. But she was innocent - I suppose, or believed.
Frustrated, and at her wits' end, she threatened to end her life.
She climbed up the big trees. Somehow, filming herself with a video camera.
Committed suicide with a rope. I rmb her saying, "One last swing"
Police sirens. And the video was uploaded on Youtube. The end.
Was jolted awake by a phone call. Am really glad.
Reality seemed so much better. I have no idea what this means though.
This makes me think if I actually was at the scene
Or did I just watch the whole thing off Youtube. I think I knew that Aunt though.
That's why I was very shocked. Was that my family? I don't know.
It had a very TKAM feel to it too. Maybe coz it paralleled the story.
Or that could just mean that it happened in the past. I don't know either.
Confused. And now, afraid to fall asleep.
Update.
Isn't that really creepy I have no idea why I dream of such things, it's by far one of my scariest dreams. But then again I was doing math before I fell asleep so my subconscious could have been somewhat haywire haha. I don't understand my dreams does anyone wanna decipher it for me........but it's not like anyone else would know my dreams any better anyway lol. Sometimes I'm really afraid of what my imagination can conjure.
Monday, October 1, 2012
Panic
By far one of the most (or far too) optimistic horoscope readings I've received:
OK eoys tmr panic panic panic I'm not even like half done with history :-((((
Jiayou and all the best everyoneeeee
You feel good all the way down to your toes, thanks to an infusion of terrific energy that helps you see the bright side of almost any situation. Things are sure to pick up even more tomorrow!And no I don't check my horoscope everyday I somehow subscribed to it ages ago and now it just gets delivered to my email haha. It's quite amusing to see what they can come up with every single day huh
OK eoys tmr panic panic panic I'm not even like half done with history :-((((
Jiayou and all the best everyoneeeee
