Saturday, September 15, 2012

日本

Have recently (ok by that I mean this morning) went to update myself on my favourite Jap boyband and omg what a wave of nostalgia!!!! My fave Jap boyband is Arashi btw, for those who don't know. Used to like them in y1/y2 really really really much it's insane (you can ask the 2A peepz haha) but now it's more of a thing of the past. Still, watching their performances and videos still bring back so much memories ahhhhhh

Wait let me find a decent photo.......
(Walao googling their images brings up some uh not very nice things to see - not advisable)

(Jun, Aiba, Nino!!!, Sho!!!!, Ohno)

For lack of time (& a better picture) I shall just use this. 
And I think it's quite obvious who my biases are. HAHA

Ok but unfortunately I don't like them as much anymore :-( I don't even watch jdrama or anything I think what was keeping me in the fandom was coz' I was learning Jap at that time. Speaking of that I really wanna learn it again it's such a nice language to me (obvious bias, all languages are nice).

I also kind of really admire the Jap culture. Like their societal values. It's just so attractive, all their ideals on graciousness and recycling and helping people :') And their history. Ahhhhhh. Ok with the exception of their WW2 expansionist policies - don't know what they were doing but people make mistakes sometimes and in their case I think they've really grown from then.

The (not-so) recent earthquake/tsunami and the Fukushima nuclear disaster that followed only served to demonstrate how well their society functions. Like during that period of time they still queue up for trains. Correct me if I'm wrong but theft was also more of a rarity than the norm. And how the elderly Japs are willing to sacrifice themselves to work on the nuclear plants because they'll die before the harmful radiation they're exposed to develops into Cancer or something equally fatal. I don't think you'll ever see that kind of community cohesion in Singapore if ever a disaster strikes us.

(This reminds me of Norway too (BP!!) they're similar to Japan in so many ways. Like their ageing/shrinking population. Haha.)

And of course there are negative aspects of the Jap society like their xenophobia and........I don't know what else. Their obsession with (ok took me a really long time to remember this word) "Hentai" maybe? Mmm and their politics is also quite....weird? Not too sure for I don't know much about it. But yeah generally they're still a really (aahhh I ran out of adjectives this is annoying) society and if I weren't living in Singapore I'll love to be in Japan. (Sorry Singapore haha we've got so much to learn from them)

PS: How can I forget. Their manners. I'll be a really rude ass in Japan. Do you know how people don't talk/make any noises on their subway because you'll be disturbing others' peace and rest during their journeys. That's how admirable they are. And let's just not get started on all that delicious sushi. And udon. And chawanmushi. 

Bye guys I'll go read about cloning :-(((((((((
SO BORING UGH
Our LA needs to be more interesting man.
My ability to procrastinate is also too strong.
Wow look my productivity is now 22%. 
That's according to Rescuetime. Google it, it's a great app.
Does anyone still read this??? For all I know I might be talking to myself.

OK BYE

No comments:

Post a Comment