Monday, July 30, 2012

Bullshit

Things have irked me for long and I cannot tolerate it any longer
My recent Mondays have been full of shit............no prizes for guessing why
It's such a waste of time on everyone's part and all you do is to preach and preach and preach about what we've done wrong and how we should change etc etc 
But you know what, these methods don't work - 

"Values are caught, not taught"

And it's really annoying how you would always, always link it back to the lift policy.
That's another thing though - I really feel that its justified for students to take the lift when they're late for lessons. Sometimes the canteen is just really crowded during recess breaks, and we end up being late and having to rush back to class because the queues are just crazily long etc.

When you think about it, won't the lift help to let us to get back to class faster and perhaps, on time as compared to climbing 6 flights of stairs? And it does not make any sense for teachers to go to the trouble to restrict students from taking the lift (omg hate x100) when we can just simply share it. Does it make you happy then, that you get the whole lift to yourself? Or worse still, when it's in the late afternoon and nobody would have to take the lift then. I understand why students shouldn't take the lift after mass dismissals but seriously, 4pm in the afternoon. What's the point man. Of course, this is based on the assumption that all teachers/staff will still get the priority - it's not like we don't give up our space for them anyway.

!!!! Even typing about this makes me rage
Don't know what went wrong but this isn't how the school should work
And definitely, not how "discipline" should be carried out

Thursday, July 26, 2012

Today

Today's one of the days where you look back at your past actions and think,
"Maybe I was wrong all along"

But it's okay, I'll learn. And I'll improve.

Saturday, July 21, 2012

Strange

Just changed the font of my blog posts, the supposedly cute font I really liked a year ago is starting to look annoying to me coz I can't read the words properly haha

Been sleeping a lot recently, that's not good

Simei study date with Elaine today :>
Discovered many new places, like that scrapbook shop I was looking for, the now closed rooftop playground and the creepy corridor with that dead end - all within East Point Mall haha
Amazing isn't it, how you don't notice things unless you look closely

I find this quite amusing


Study date with , who's gone for her second walk walk

Study date with , who's gone to walk walk :(
I can never sit still for long haha it bores me to death
And I believe that is also why productivity falls when I study for more than 2 hours or so
Don't know how people do it!!! I need a change in environment lol

On a side note
I always get this weird feeling when I read
Am really curious though
But I shall continue to wonder

Sunday, July 15, 2012

The thing about street sales

Today's my first experience at doing street sales w Tsepuay, I think we did pretty well (haha) but it kinda reminded me about some thoughts I've had regarding CIP activities.

1) If you're doing community service, you might as well do a good job out of it
Really hate it when people just waste the entire 3-4hours away walking around (cough) and doing nothing when they themselves signed up for the activity. I know it's the truth that everyone's in for the cip hours but at least do a decent job so that you actually deserve to be awarded the hours. Of course it's tiring, and it obviously gets boring after a while and I myself am guilty of taking unnecessary breaks. But when all you've collected is this measly amount (assuming normal circumstances where a) there are crowds and b) people do donate) I think it really reflects on you as an individual and the amount of effort you put in (or lack of).

2) Street sales - things should be reasonably priced
Xiaoqi and I once had this woman walk up to us at Bishan J8 trying to sell us a Minnie notebook (from value dollar shop -_-) at 5bux. Wth. And we actually bought it, because who could say no to "we approached many students just now too, and they all donated to us" and not appear like an asshole. Walked away feeling scammed - I wouldn't have minded if she sold it to us at like $2-$3 but $5 is like at least more than twice the original price. Even if it's for charity it's unfair to sell things at exorbitant prices.

3) The trust issue
This can be quite a controversial issue and I have no idea what's the best solution, but we approached this old guy, he took out his wallet and looked really interested, then refused to buy anything because "it is simply unacceptable" that we do not have a can or bag that he can slot his money in. I don't know.....every time you make a donation it's also based on trust after all, you don't know if that person is going to lose the can/bag, but what you know is that he/she will be personally liable for the losses (though I don't think they'll pay for it right). As for street sales, the situation is even more complicated but if you think about it, everything will be accounted for as the price of the items sold should be equal to the total amount of money collected. Though I do understand where he's coming from but his doubt was really insulting (imo) - do we look like people who would cheat others of $2??? I know it can be a lot when all the little amounts are added up together but Tsepuay also mentioned that for street sales it's more of an exchange of money for goods (much like shopping except it goes to charity) and not just pure donations, so even if we do scam people of their money they at least get something in return as an assurance. So it's not actually a loss for them after all (unless it's the situation in 2)). Ugh I don't even know what to say.

4) I cannot understand why people refuse to buy things when they're only $1-$2. It's obviously an amount most of the people can afford. And what's more shameful is that foreigners are actually more willing to donate to Singapore's needy children than Singaporeans..............what is this.

5) Nice people
People who actually smile at you or ask you about your cause/listen to you talk before deciding (even if they don't donate/buy things). Or simply, people who understand what it's like to be in others' shoes. One lady offered TP and I 5bux to buy drinks after buying our items, that's really nice of her and it wasn't necessary at all. Little things like this makes me really proud of our society but on the other hand.........I cannot tolerate people who ignore you and look away when you approach them. !!! Such assholes haha at least look at us right.

Ok end of rant haha I should do something more productive

Youth Day Weekend

This is quite an overdue post, but my (most probably) last youth day was honestly one of the best I've ever had so I have to blog about this :>>

Friday 
-HX's bday!!
(refer to http://eyeslikeshutter.blogspot.sg/2012/06/birthday-post.html plz, I'm too lazy lol) 
All I have to say is, I'm glad that all our efforts paid off and she enjoyed her birthday :-) 

-Youth day celebrations in school. I think it was pretty well planned!! We had class games (angry birds/pacman/jump??) and performances after half a day of lessons. Really enjoyed the concert, especially the Y2s/fluxx dance and the last part with all the orange balloons - such a pretty sight to see all the balloons in the air *_* We also received this cute little yoyo as a memento hahaha

-Met HX and Mich after guides, went for dinner at Sakura (where we stole tons of Jap jelly #guilty) then sleepover @ HX's house :-)

Saturday
-Home, then Baybeats 2012!! w Weiqi & Jiajun
Dinner at Waraku/Curry house, then we caught Cashew Chemists' set at the Esplanade Arena (and various other bands). Coincidentally an NDP rehearsal was taking place at Marina Bay so we saw the fireworks and all too hehe :-) I love love love their songs now hahaha it's been on replay for days here's one for you: 

Oh darling I belong to you
I'm trying to make it up to you

I know you're working
To make things happen

Bought their badge too haha proud fan here. Support local bands!! :>
(This is not bad too:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IebSKnPSFYs)

Sunday
-Grace's bday bbq~~
It was at Pasir Ris Park, but HX and I were quite late lol so much for living nearby!! Had a really fun time, I helped to start the fire hahahaa, food was good, we played games and Grace brought her guitar too ^-^ I like the crowd too (mostly 4L peepz) they're really easy to get along with :-)

Monday
-Studied physics at Macs w Qianyu, ended up only covering like 2 topics haha damnnnn but ok lah my physics test turned out to be quite decent after all. I can't rmb what else I did hmmm I think I finished Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mom?? The book (Siyun's) was not bad!

Ok abrupt end to my very happening weekend, once again I don't think I really got any homework done............lol.

PS: I'm in chem remedial now!! First session was 3h my god, almost died @_@ No joke sia luckily I had Yunyi and Jiaqi beside me haha our chem is so bad it's really funny.

On a side note the Yong Tau Foo Stall Uncle passed away, my condolences and do rest in peace.

Will blog about PDP soon~~ 

Monday, July 2, 2012

I am curious

Thought provoking question of the day:
How hard is it to return a library book?

This can be a math question too.
Estimate the amount of time needed for one to return a library book.

Or, Discuss the difficulties one may face in returning a library book.
Or, What are some reasons people simply do not return library books?

I don't understand how people can have such great sense of responsibility. Especially after reminders. That's reminders with an S, by the way.

Ok this just ruined my Monday on a really sour note.
And, I met my neighbour in the lift. Awkward............................