Friday, December 23, 2011

IP

There's a lot of hype about IP recently, like this article:

"Some students fail to thrive on Integrated Programme scheme"
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_747635.html

To be honest? This is really quite true.
PSLE scores do not determine your secondary school results. In fact, they don't mean a thing as sec school academics are largely based on purely hard work, at least for me. If someone were to predict my academic results based on my PSLE score I would be seriously under-performing now.

Helped out with the Y1 registration yesterday, and I learnt that our COP this year is 256 :( That's honestly a rather big jump from the past few years...........

And this also probably confirms the rumour that our COP is lower than that of the first batches of new IP schools this year - and initially I was damn pissed. I mean, Dunman High leh even if our JC section is not that strong yet we do have a good history for our secondary school section, no?? And to be considered inferior to NEW IP SCHOOLS is seriously an insult to us, especially since we've been doing IP for a few years right now.

And then I went to google, and I found this in a forum:
"We are talking about smart kids with PSLE 250 points and above here. So good exam results is a given for them, and what will be critical is whether they are equipped with the necessary life skills for success in life. Hence in my view, what will differentiate one IP from another is the school's emphasis on developing the kids holistically, imbuing them with self confidence, communication and leadership skills etc. This is where I feel schools which have deep traditions, strong character and good networks will have an advantage.

It seems to me that MOE has deviated from the IP principle by coming out with funny partnerships which will make it difficult for true integration to take place. Even RI and RGS have to take many years before their IP is truely integrated. To do so for schools without common history and ties will be even more challenging. Good luck to all of them."
Sometimes I really question if the standard in IP schools is truly higher than that of normal secondary schools going for O levels.

PS: But if you ask me, I'll never regret coming to DHS :-)))))

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

2011

Another year's coming to an end and truthfully, 2011 was a relatively good year to me :-) Despite the increased workload from school and all the shit that has happened, I managed to overcome them unscathed and you have to admit that there were some good times through it all!

Here's a summary of my year, in no particular order:
1) Guides/P8 Oriole
Ok firstly, I love my patrol!! Hahaha and P6 Ixora too but yeah :-) I've definitely forged a few strong friendships in guides through the past year, having gone through COJ, PLTC and ATC together <3 All these camps certainly strengthened me and taught me important life lessons...oh and we did a whole lot of fun things this year - heritage trail, rockclimbing course, yoga for initiatives, and many many CIPs that I really enjoyed!! :-) And I'm damn proud of this but I'M DONE W NYAA SILVER and all my guides badges this holiday......not easy okay hahahaha

2) 3Kthxbai
Ahhhhh I love how we're all so different yet we complement one another so perfectly <3 To be honest, it's quite a big change from 2A's happy-go-lucky spirit but nevertheless, 3K's a really awesome and funny class too!! I've enjoyed all our class outings and our vvv cool class service learning haha. Here's to the people who've made it special, you know who you are!! We should go out more, I can only remember going for free cone day and old airport road together~ Looking forward to more great times next year :-)

3)Astra clique
I miss you guys omg WE NEED ANOTHER SLEEPOVER soon!!! Even though we're all in different classes (except for Siyun who's my best bud in 3K <3), I still see Mich and HX's faces everyday when there's school (LOL), Xinyi and Shinyi who's next to my class, midnight dhsmail chats with Neh and not to mention Tsepuay during guides and Kaijing in school~~ I love how our friendship still lasts (although it has obviously faded a little, no kidding) despite not spending a lot of time together this year :-)

4)I really don't know how to name this
But generally they're my primary school friends who I still contact :-) This includes Weiqi who has the weirdest thoughts in her head, Sijia who imo, is an overachiever, Qianyu my fellow cheapskate HAHA and Jiajun my lunch buddy <3 I love how we hang out at the carpark (fml we sound like losers lol) and go out together to just simply have fun!!!!! In another category is Xinling whom I seriously can go any place on earth with hehexz

5) School/other events
Other than the people there's obviously the events that made my year worthwhile!!! There's Chingay which was good but I was so AWKWARD, STEP'11 where the people were all so nice and friendly plus Thailand was a really fun experience, DHS 55th anniversary celebrations (idk why it's here but it was special to me), and last but not least work during the holidays, where I really learnt A LOT and gained some experience hahaha :-)

After typing all this I realized I'm so rusty from blogging :'( Even my style is different from half a year ago.........sobxz. All in all 2011 was really fulfilling and worthwhile, and let's hope 2012 will be a great year as well!!!

Sunday, August 7, 2011

How you doing?

I failed another history essay -_-

I don't get it yknow, I love history but I'm pretty much convinced that I cannot do PEEL. Or SEEI, whatever you call it. Grrrrr. And geography, especially physical geography... sucks, to tell the truth. Why would the formation of rivers or volcanoes or mountains concern me. I live in Singapore, dude. Where there's remotely none of those.

And no, this beach is not in Singapore.
I badly wanna go Bintan/Batam though :(

So we went for geography fieldwork on saturday morning.. 730am
Firstly, who the heck goes to the beach at 730am to calculate wave frequency, longshore drift, measure the gradient of the coast...... Well you get it. Isn't the beach for like, suntanning and building sandcastles and picnics and swimming?? Thanks alot geography, now I'll never look at a beach without thinking about all the coastal processes -_-

Hmmm guzheng concert at night was alright haha. The China performers were damn professional and all. And dinner afterwards at PP was quite fun too hehehe :) I tried Pontian wanton mee for the first time lol. Cheap and yummy food = <3


Today... I ran 3.6km in the evening, in preparation for doomsday tomorrow.
It isn't as impossible as I thought, but I almost died in the process...

I bet my school's the only one who forces their students to run on National Day. Way to show our patriotism, by running under the Sun in red shirts... Yay. Totally not excited though, I'm quite sure I'll be one of the lasts, with all the sports people participating in the 3.6km run >:

This is gonna be the hottest National Day celebrations ever.

PS: I still can't believe I managed to run 3.6km hahaha.
Then you look at those marathon runners who completed like, 42.195km.

I'll be bingeing on M&Ms tomorrow morning.
Just saying, but I love the huge ones haha.

Saturday, July 30, 2011

Hectic

Just attended DHS Crane Scouts 55th anniversary campfire today hehe
The thing I love about scouts/guides campfires is that everyone really sings together <3

Okay on to my week!
The past few weeks had been quite manageable, in fact
3k had our photo-taking session not long ago and they've alr developed the photos!
Talk about efficiency. Here's one:
This year's photo-taking was a quite different experience as those from 2A, to tell the truth.
Sometimes 3k isn't really as cooperative as I wish we would be, and we don't really work as a class but individually, yknow. We didn't even venture into zhengxinyuan because people felt that it was too hot -_- K, I get it.

Hmm so I've just received my math test as well - 33.3333333% hahaha joke lah, seriously
I think I might as well give up on A math, I just passed the previous math test and now a fail. Good going, huiyi. Really awesome.

Physics results were better than expected though, idk why!! Maybe cause I read the textbook for all the topics haha. Shall use this as my motivation since its the first test in term 3 which i haven't done badly in. I need to pull up my socks - especially for geography and chemistry, I don't even get anything nowadays :((((

Omg I'm such a nerd

PS: Finally found some time to watch Harry Potter w my parents last weekend, as well as go out w Jiajun Qianyu and Sijia for a study date at Changi Airport hehe. Chanced upon a flea and found some really good buys ^-^
Hahaha wtf I have issues

Saturday, July 16, 2011

Dunman High's 55th!!

So yeah, as the title implies today was DHS's 55th anniversary and official school opening!
Okay to be honest I think the school opening part is plain dumb... Our school opened in 2009 hello? And what do you mean that wasn't official?

The school's really beautifully decorated though, I must say :')
They set up a performance stage and tables/chairs in 正心园 as well as a huge white tent in our parade square for the dinner. Like this:
Not bad eh :)

Anyway, I helped out as a student usher hahaha, and basically I just had to bring guests around the campus for a school tour. My very first experience was.. well let's just say it was awkward.

Me: Are you an alumni of Dunman High School?
Her: Oh I was the vice-principal last time.

After that I had to bring this family from China around, speaking Chinese which I fail at.
I should probably shut up about the stupid things I do - endless, by the way.
And finally the performance!! I was actually pretty much looking forward to it :)))))
There was SH guzheng, choir w our school song, eds/chi dance and also band/CO :D
And yes those are fire effects(!!), my school's cool yo.

Sueqin and I sneaked down to the memento shop when Mr Goh Chok Tong arrived lol. BAD timing. We froze during the school song hahaha
One thing I absolutely can't stand about these school events is the speeches. They're really long (and that's an understatement), boring and most of the time I can't even hear what they're talking about. Today we endured through 3 of them... (*pats self*)

That's basically it haha - (OH WE SAW NDP FIREWORKS ^^)
We were dismissed at around 830pm but our dinner was late :<
So the guides went to steal some food from the buffet - perfectly legal, don't worry - and we om nom nomxz until our horrible dinner arrived -_- I don't mind the school being cheapskate, having spent like 1mil on these celebrations (or so I heard..) but at least make sure it's tasty right!! Oh well #sadlife of volunteers :(

Here's a jie photo to end off this blogpost :)
We cleared the confetti on the stage and around the 正心园 along w a group of CO people, the cleaners and Shermaine + her friend haha. Love it when people just simply help out out of kindness :')

PS: Don't tell anybody, but I sat on the black stone kongzi is on!! ;)
I'm also currently very much addicted to the nyan cat song (embarrassing omg).

Thursday, July 14, 2011

Epic

Yeah, that's me - unfortunately.
So yesterday Sheryl and I broke 4 test-tubes.. while reaching for food under our tables lolol
I'm left with like, ONE now. Hahaha I cant even pour solutions from one test-tube to another -_-

Today I forgot to bring my house keys again.
Guess what?? My dad decides to come home 2h later than usual.. awesome. So much for a 145pm day, I reached home at 745pm thanks, you're welcome. I had no choice but to sit at the void deck and read physics, mmm hmm interesting.

Oh & for PC lesson we did this lion, lamb, or lobster personality test(???) as part of sex-ed haha. I found out I'm a meh-meh!! Along w siyun elaine emily zephania cherlyn and I can't rmb who else. Most of 3K were lobsters eh, and it was quite cool to know :)

AND I ATE MY FRUIT TART TODAY
.
.
.
.
.
:Q :Q :Q
Damn I'm such a glutton.

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

Hey

Okay so it's been long since I've last blogged, probably years???
But I've just realized the importance of jotting my memories down, yadah yadah

So yep, here we go again :)
Life's been pretty hectic this year.. what with studies, all the guides matters, and busy schedules.
Its been a roller coaster ride so far (why am i so cliche) but I had loads of fun!!
One really good thing about Y3 is that I've definitely made more friends (lol #foreveralone),
like through STEP and exchange of classes and just, yknow, general mixing around :)
And sometimes people just turn out to be different from what you've thought.. in a nice way, of course

OK this is such a generic post :((((
Sooooo we've been in the middle of the scouts 55th anniversary campfire prep, and we're singing some pretty awesome songs hehe (they're so ~dreamy~) I better go, there's a physics and math test coming up soon and all I've done is.. to read books.
(Overdue) homework imma conquer you.